‘Joe’s Cafe' returns to the Metropolitan Room in Manhattan Dec 1, 9:30pm

NEW YORK -- Rupert Wates And Friends are bringing Joe's Cafe, the critically acclaimed musical revue of songs based on true stories, back to the Metropolitan Room (34 West 22nd Street, NYC, NY 10010 (between 5th and 6th Ave.) Tel: 212-206-0440 (http://www.metropolitanroom.com) beginning at 9:30pm. Helping Wates perform the songs in “Joe’s Cafe” will be a full ensemble of other singers and musicians.

The audience is invited to imagine that they are guests in an all-night cafe, where friends gather to share their stories. In this intimate environment, an ensemble of consummate performers deliver fifteen songs that retell the experience of ordinary American people.

The Skies Of South Dakota unfolds the sad story of a young girl's struggle with religious and class prejudice. Days Of Mercy tells of the exodus of a poor family across America during the Dust Bowl Depression. There are tales of love and loss in the two world wars, and other stories of yesterday and today, each recast in song, each of them a piece in the mosaic that is the story of America itself.

Reviews of Joe's Cafe:
LATEST REVIEWS FROM RECENT FRINGE FESTIVAL TOUR: http://www.bitemusiclimited.com/reviews.cfm

“A real treat. Don’t miss this show.” - Tim Koetting, Artword.net

“Truly magical.” - Katie Penrose, View Magazine Online

“Warm, witty, tender, poignant—you'll take something powerfully important away.” - Rita Kohn, Nuvo

“Haunting and powerful.” - Adrian Chamberlain, Times-Colonist

“Touching songs, wonderful guitar work and angelic voices. Run to see it!” - Bill Bourus, Indianapolis Fringe Festival

“Riveting stories, told in song.” - Roberta Parker, Minnesota Fringe

“Wates doesn't withhold his powers as a poet, tearing through the veneer of consensus reality to bring listeners the raw truth of the human condition. Joe's Cafe burrows deeply into heart and mind.” (Folk And Acoustic Music Exchange - Read full review http://www.acousticmusic.com/fame/p06304.htm)

“Succeeds brilliantly in conveying the warm atmosphere of Joe's Cafe” (http://www.altcountryforum.nl/2010/04/30/rupert-wates-joes-cafe/)

Rupert Wates (author) is an award-winning singer-songwriter, born in the UK, based since 2007 in New York City.

“Truly gripping lyrics with great themes and troubling, witty messages” (Leith FM Radio Scotland)

“A new and unique songwriter-musician already in the front ranks by dint of timeless work” (Mark S. Tucker)

Performers
Rupert Wates http://www.bitemusiclimited.com (Guitar and voice)
Chris Howard (percussion) http://www.myspace.com/themusicpilgrim
Jamie Bishop (Bass) http://jamiebishopmusic.com
And guest vocalists including:
Nicole Collins http://www.nicolecollins.net
Safiya Fredericks
John Guari http://www.myspace.com/johnguari
Stacey Lorin http://www.staceylorin.com
Katie Pearlman http://www.katiepearlman.com
Alissa Stahler http://www.myspace.com/alissastahler
Gretchen Witt http://www.gretchenwitt.com

Performance time and date
9:30pm Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Venue
The Metropolitan Room
34 West 22nd St., NYC, NY 10010 (between 5th & 6th Ave.) Tel: 212-206-0440
$10 + two-beverage minimum
http://www.metropolitanroom.com



Leave a comment

    Add comment


    © 2016 Rupert Wates, © 2016 Bitemusic Limited. All Rights Reserved.
    Background image, masthead and album photography ©2010 Marco Prozzo